[Religion - Church officials]

Church officials

In the register for 1702 there is the first mention of a rector as a resident parson, but for very many years after this date it was customary for the incumbent to be a non-resident, and even Mr. A.Earl, who died at the beginning of the 20th century, was only ‘curate in charge’. With the exception of the year 1646 the living has been in the gift of the Earl of Pembroke from 1613 to the late 1920s, when Dr Clay made his list.

The Incumbents of the Parish – 1305 to date

The following extract is taken from Wiltshire Institutions by Sir Thomas Phillips.

Date Patron Clericus.
1305 Abb. de Wylton Robertus de Hulcote
1361 Rex pro Abb. de Wylton Thomas Barneby
1389 Abb. de Wylton Johannes Couper
1389 Abb. de Wylton Johannes Couper permut cum Johannes Boum
1408 Abb. de Wylton Walterus Kood
1409 Abb. de Wylton Nicholaus Grave
1424 Abb. de Wylton Wm. Elford
1432 Abb. de Wylton Thomas House
1473 Abb. de Wylton George Reede
1504 Abb. de Wylton Thomas Martyn
1507 Abb. de Wylton Thomas Hobson
1527 Abb. de Wylton Johannes Roberts
1554 Rich. Hungerford, gen ex concessione Dominae Isabellae Baynton, de Edyngton, viduae Robertus Mody  
1613 Willm. E of Pembroke Wm Lennarde
1623 Willm. E of Pembroke Thos. Chaffin
(Deficiency of records from 6 October 1645 to 21 June 1660)
1674 Willm. E of Pembroke Thomas Barford
1702 Thos. E of Pembroke Robert Gary
1723 Thos. E of Pembroke Thomas Eyre
1754 Henry E of Pembroke Thomas Dampier
1759 Henry E of Pembroke Thomas Eyre
1762 Henry E of Pembroke Thomas Eyre son of Thomas Eyre

This list is far from complete, and is slightly inaccurate. The following corrections are necessary :

1527   John Deane
1540 ? John Roberts
1646 Parliament Randolph Caldecott
1646? Parliament John Priaux
1660 ? John Priaux (confirmed in his office)
1811 E. of Pembroke William Coxe
1828 E. of Pembroke G. Dewdney
1836 E. of Pembroke Wellesley Pole Pigott
  E. of Pembroke J. Elers
1890 E. of Pembroke Alfred Earle
1898 E. of Pembroke Maitland A. Shorland
1919   Robert Usher
[Fovant Incumbents - Click to enlarge]
1942   Jesse Lees
1951   Homer Hill
1958   John Blanchett
1974   Kenneth Cooper
1984   Charles Goulding
1986   Joseph Bell
1991   John Eade

Incumbents noted in italics in the above list were added to Doctor Clay’s original list by M.A.M. in February 2004 .


The churchwardens’ books date from 1795, but it is not possible to compile an accurate list of those who held the office prior to 1823.

1823 James Sheppard Rowden William Martin
1824 J.S. Rowden Samuel Bracher
1830 William Futcher James Futcher
1831 James Futcher Stephen Brown
1838 William Futcher James Futcher
1850 James Futcher Stephen Brown
1859 Aaron Futcher Stephen Brown
1860 Aaron Futcher Thomas Webb
1875 Aaron Futcher George Hart
1878 James Futcher George Hart
1880 James Futcher George Futcher
1910 H. Hitchings George Futcher
1912 T. Simper George Futcher
1913 Thos. Simper C.M. Green
1919 Thos. Simper Major Dover
1921 Thos. Simper B.C.R. Langford
1923 A.J. Cuff T. Bracher (Sen.)
1925 R. Webb A.J. Cuff
1925 H. Hitchings A.J. Cuff
1927 A.J. Cuff (October) B.C.R. Langford
(pro.tem. H. Hitchings deceased)
1928 A.J. Cuff T. Bracher
1939 A.J. Cuff Capt. Normand
1943 A.J. Cuff L. Combes
1945 A.J. Cuff F.T.S. Bracher
1947 F.T.S. Bracher H.A. Roberts
1949 F.T.S. Bracher Mr Briggs
1950 F.T.S. Bracher T. Coombes

(Note: The retiring churchwardens were re-elected in those years which are not included in the above list)


Content last updated
9 June 2006

Home | Available pages | Credits | Top of page